In order to become a Certified Public Accountant (also known as CPA), an individual should be eligible to take the Uniform CPA exam facilitated by the members or officials of the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy. However, the state boards have several requirements that applicants should satisfy before they qualify to take the examination. The requirements for taking the examination vary from one U.S. state to another so to avoid having delays or hassles, applicants for the exam are advised to prepare all the documents needed to prove that they satisfy the requirements. Below are the CPA exam requirements implemented in some of the states in America.
The minimum degree required for applicants is any baccalaureate degree. Aside from this, applicants should finish 24 semester hours on accounting as well as 12 semester hours in advanced or intermediate accounting. Other than these, applicants should also complete 18 semester hours in other courses related to accounting like business law or financial management. It is also necessary that applicants be at least 18 years old.
In Arkansas, applicants should finish 150 semester hours before they become eligible to sit for the exam. It is necessary that applicants for the exam have baccalaureate degrees and completed 20 hours in advanced accounting. To prove that they completed the requirements, they need to present a copy of their transcripts to the state board before their applications will be approved by the state board.
The accounting board of Alabama requires physicians to finish a baccalaureate degree and additional graduate courses in accounting. Applicants should have at least 33 semester hours in courses related to accounting, 27 semester hours in business management courses as well as three semester hours for courses related to business law. Applicants should be at least 19 years of age before they can be allowed to take the exam.
In Minnesota, to be eligible for the exam, applicants should have a baccalaureate degree and should complete 24 semester hours on courses related to business administration and law. To be qualified for the examination, applicants should be a resident of the state. If an applicant is not a resident of Minnesota, it is important that the applicant works or studies in the state. The minimum age requirement for the exam is 18. Above all, the state board, requires applicants to present proofs that they are eligible to take the exam such as copy of transcript and certificate of residency.